Vietnam Journalists’ Association deploys tasks for 2018

April 18, 2018 | 03:16 pm GMT+7

The Vietnam Journalists’ Association (VJA) held a national conference to review the accomplishments of 2017 and set tasks for 2018 in Cua Lo town, in Nghe An province on April 17.



The conference was chaired by Politburo member and Head of the Party Central Committee (PCC)'s Commission for Communications and Education Vo Van Thuong. The event also saw the presence of Thuan Huu, Editor-in-chief of Nhan Dan newspaper, Deputy head of the PCC's Communication and Education Commission and Chairman of VJA Vietnam Journalists’ Association and more than 500 delegates representing nearly 23,000 members of the VJA.
Discussions at the conference focused on evaluating the achieved results, identifying difficulties and challenges; analysing the causes of shortcomings in order to devise solutions and make strong changes in press activities; while setting out solutions to effectively implement the Press Law 2016 and moral regulations for journalists.
Participants at the event agreed that over the past years, the media have followed the leadership of the Party and State, providing timely, accurate, and comprehensive coverage of political and socio-economic issues of the country and the world, while serving as a trustworthy forum for the people.
The press popularised achievements in the course of renewal, gave suggestions on solutions to various matters, and have combated corruption, wastefulness, and social evils.
In 2018, the VJA set out 16 key tasks and solutions for promoting its activities at all levels. All levels of the Association conducted a review of the implementation of Directive 37-CT / TW dated March 18, 2004 of the Secretariat in association with the review of the quality of activities of the Association and to intensify the education and fostering of ideals and political skills for the staff of the press.
On this occasion, 33 collectives and 152 individuals received certificates of merit for their outstanding performances in 2017.