11th ASEAN CIO\CSO Awards

September 17, 2015 | 02:58 pm GMT+7

The 11th ASEAN CIO\CSO Awards 2015 (Chief Information Officer and Chief Security Officer) organized by Ministry of Finance and International Data Group (IDG) was held in Hanoi on September, 16th, 2015. Deputy Minister of Information and Communications Nguyen Thanh Hung attended.


At the welcome speech, Deputy Minister Nguyen Thanh Hung said: ICT applications have become demands and an important factor in helping organizations and enterprises to manage and enhance their competitiveness. The role of information systems and the need in protecting information systems are matters of utmost urgency. Besides, the CIO should always has the companionship of the CSO – who keeps the role of ensuring the safety of the assets of organizations and businesses, especially in the growing risk to information networks’security. Deputy Minister Nguyen Thanh Hung affirmed: Ministry of Information and Communications highly appriciated the voting results because this was "the recognition and honor of the leaders in IT and information security pioneers" in the region. 

With 10 consecutive years, CIO\CSO 2015 Summit and Awards has become an important annual event as well as one of the most prestigious events in the region, gathering most brilliant and representative IT leaders. The Summit created a good opportunities for IT leaders to share new ideas with others. Thus, they could build their own knowledge base for the future strategies, while share the new aspects in vision and their responsibilities for the problems of technology and business. 

Besides, the CIO\CSO Awards looks for and honors outstanding individuals in the ASEAN who are responsible for information management and security in order to ensure business continuity, minimize business risks and maximize business opportunities in the enterprises, governmental and civic organizations. This year, 24 outstanding individuals, 13 of which were Vietnamese, were honoured. So far, 200 CIOs and CSOs in ASEAN have received Awards.